Feeding The Hungry At Christmas

Yesterday was my last day in before Christmas and we were inundated with food donations coming in and clients taking it away.  For three hours we were constantly busy. The downside was that we didn’t have much time to chat to clients.

I noticed one woman pick up a gospel tract and place it in her handbag. She also started to read our framed poems on the walls, such as “Footprints”. I engaged her in conversation and sussed out that she had issues in her life. I suggested she might like prayer when we were quiet and she said “yes”. Unfortunately, we never were quiet and she left with her partner taking her food but without any prayer. Hope she comes back again when we’re quiet, after Christmas. We don’t have any separate room to take people for prayer as our premises are so small. Must discuss this with the manager sometime soon.

black glove photo  Another client was a guy who shook hands with his left hand as his right, in a black glove, was evidently useless. He told me he’d had 13 operations on it so far, and he still had practically no use of it. I offered to pray for healing and he agreed, ‘tho’ admitting he didn’t believe in God. I said that’s OK. I laid hands on him for a while, then another team member joined me and prayed too. I told the guy to test his hand out, doing something he couldn’t normally do. He did, but said “no change”. He said he felt heat when I laid hands on him. I said to him I had often prayed for people where no change seemed to happen at the time. Later, when I saw them again, some reported that healing had occurred. I explained that God’s healing power can carry on working after the event, so thank God for what he’s doing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christmas, Food Bank, Injury, Prayer

Leave a Reply

