Does God Answer Prayer?

Was heading into town to do my volunteer duty at the Food Bank. As I walked down the road I was asking God to really use me in loving others. Two minutes later, as I passed a man sitting on a low wall, I felt God say “stop and talk to him”. By this time I had gone past him, so I doubled back and sat down beside him for a chat. To cut a long story short, he was suffering all sorts of rejection by family members after the death of his mother, whom he’d looked after 24/7 for a long time. He also suffered several illnesses, plus a withered left hand that he had covered in a glove, “because people make fun of it”. He was a very sad man. He shared how he’d tried to end his life  before. He confided that some days he even sat out in the rain in shorts to try and catch pneumonia so that he would die!

I offered to pray for him and he accepted. I prayed, but was conscious of my inadequacy and of having to leave him to get in to do my shift. I offered him a good news booklet, but he said he couldn’t read.  I tried to encourage him as best I could, then went on my way. It’s so hard seeing the world’s misery in human terms! It makes you wonder how badly God feels about it, knowing an answer exists that so many find hard to grasp hold of, for whatever reason.  words god is love written on wristband

Explore posts in the same categories: God, God answers prayer, God at Work, Prayer, Suffering

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Does God Answer Prayer?”

  1. keijo Says:

    Yes the Lord will lisner us today again in his migthy wisdom and power to answering too in alot prayer today and he is working hard to be God for us in needs na in love and in for promises in the bible for Jesus blood sake,thanks and bless and joy,keijo sweden


Leave a Reply

