Street Drinker Now Reading His Bible

lots of empty beer bottles I met an “old” street friend – only 43 – who has long had addiction problems due to alcohol abuse. He’s been in and out of rehab many times. He came  for food today and my heart really went out to him. He’s struggled and struggled to the extent that he’s been at rock bottom for some time. His body is totally wrecked. He told me today he’s died twice recently and been resuscitated. A lapsed cradle Catholic, he even went to Mass recently and confessed to the local priest. Unfortunately he still doesn’t have any peace. He acknowledged that Jesus is the only one who can help him. He says he is now down to 2 cans a day which, for him, is a massive reduction.  I told him I believed God has a purpose for his life and he agreed with that.

He has a Bible and is reading it every day. I told him to cry out to Jesus with his whole being as he reads it.  I offered to pray for  him and he gladly accepted. After that I felt prompted to pray in tongues for him and poured myself out in the spirit with a great deal of passion and urgency that surprised even me. He thanked me and went off with his food parcel

Another couple of guys came in, one leaning on a stick.  I thought: “I’ll check out the problem and offer to pray for his healing”.  man with walking stick

By then he was in conversation with another team member, so I asked his accompanying friend what the leg problem was. He said “it’s been amputated”. I knew I didn’t have Smith Wigglesworth’s level of faith for a brand new leg, so I dropped the healing thought immediately!

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Alcohol, Bible, Confession, God, God at Work, Jesus

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

